AHL Man of the Year Award

| March 25, 2010 | 0 Comments
HOUSTON - The Houston Aeros are proud to announce Matt Kassian as the team’s winner of the American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the Houston community during the 2009-10 season. AHL Man of the Year Award photo| Matt Kassian   The Kassassin
 “Matt has done a tremendous job this year supporting the Houston community,” said Aeros Vice President of Marketing and Communications, Courtney Eidman. “He has set a high standard in the organization for contributing both on and off the ice.”
In his third season with the Aeros, Kassian has won over Aeros fans with his toughness on the ice and willingness to give back off the ice. He has played a key role in the Aeros efforts throughout the community this season, including the Aeros 15th Annual Charity Golf Classic and the 12th Annual Celebrity Waiter Dinner and Auction. Prior to Thanksgiving, Kassian led a group of players to Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital to visit patients in Pediatric ER and the Houston Aeros Power Playroom, a room funded by Houston Aeros Charities.
Kassian also helped promote Houston’s Chilly’s Pet Pals Night by visiting the Houston Humane Society. During his visit, he recorded a video segment that was featured on Pets on Demand, a channel dedicated to pet adoptions. He was also one of six players who took part in a special visit to the Val Jahnke Fire Training Academy and Houston Fire Station #26. The Aeros went to pay their respects to the fallen Captain and Firefighter from a year ago. After the tragic loss last year, the Aeros and Peoria Rivermen together raised $5,000 in honor of the two fallen heroes.

In recognition of his efforts, Kassian will be presented with an etched crystal trophy during an on-ice presentation prior to an upcoming Aeros home game.

Kassian is now one of 29 finalists for the AHL’s 2009-10 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League in the coming weeks.

Category: News & Views

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.

Shop for official 2013 NHL team fan merchandise at Shop.NHL.com